Criminalising Carelessness? – Comparative and Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Criminal Liability for Inadvertent Negligence

Criminalising Carelessness? – Com­par­a­tive and Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Criminal Liability for Inadvertent Negli­gence

Workshop • August 29–31, 2024 • Freiburg/Germany

Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security and Law


Can we punish people for crimes they didn’t even know they committed? Ultimately, the answer to this question lies at the core of criminal liability for inadvertent negligence. But legal systems respond very differently. Although most civil law jurisdictions seem to have no problem with criminal liability for inadvertent negligence, its criminalisation is con­tro­ver­sial in common law jurisdictions. And even though most Anglo-American criminal law theorists firmly hold onto the principle of actus non facit reum, nisi mens sit rea, criminal liability for negligence, and even strict liability, is becoming inexorably widespread in statutory law. Surprisingly, despite the subject having been long discussed in Anglo-American and German criminal law scholarship, there has been scant exchange between them, and the two legal systems have benefited too little from each other’s insights.
From 29–31 August 2024, we would like to address this issue and the different perspectives on criminal liability for inadvertent negligence in a workshop organized by the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security and Law, Freiburg. Cutting through the fields of philosophy, psychology, and criminal law theory, the workshop will address the theoretical, doctrinal, and practical issues of inadvertent negligence. A special emphasis will be placed on the ques­tion of what we are accusing the offender of: What is criminally wrong about being careless, and is this criminal charge tenable from a legal and even from a philosophical and psychological point of view? By bringing together scholars from different civil and common law jurisdictions, the workshop will provide a platform for a lively international and interdis­ci­pli­nary debate on these questions and seeks to provide new answers to an old problem.

Program
 


– provisional program –
 

Wednesday, 28 August 2024  
– Arrival –

 

Thursday, 29 August 2024  
09:15–10:00 Registration
10:00–10:15 Philipp-Alexander Hirsch (Freiburg)
Welcome and Introduction
10:15–11:15 Gunnar Duttge (Göttingen)
Fundamental Questions on Inadvertent Negligence from the Perspective of
German Criminal Law
11:15–12:15 Mark Dsouza (London)
Chosen Negligence
12:15–13:45 – lunch break –
13:45–14:45 Veronica Rodriguez-Blanco (Surrey)
Settling the Terms for Understanding Negligent actions: Two Models of
Deliberation
14:45–15:45 Boris Burghardt (Marburg)
Inadvertent Negligence and Moral Luck
15:45–16:15 – coffee break –
16:15–17:45 Manuel Cordes  (Freiburg)
The Semantics of Avoidability

Alexander Greenberg (Southampton)
Could Have Known Better
18:30 – dinner (speakers only) –

 

Friday, 30 August 2024  
09:30–11:00 Jan Rummel (Heidelberg)
Remembering Intentions: A Special Cognitive Challenge

Johannes Stefan Weigel (Göttingen & Freiburg)
The (Un)Avoidability of Negligence
11:00–11:30 – coffee break –
11:30–12:30 Heidi Hurd (Illinois) & Michael Moore (Illinois)
The Non-Punishability of Negligence
12:30–14:00 – lunch –
14:00–15:00 Jan C. Schuhr (Heidelberg)
Two Models of Carelessness: Extraordinary Imputation vs. Breach of Duty
15:00–16:00 Findlay Stark (Cambridge)
Constrained Negligence
16:00–16:30 – coffee break –
16:30–17:30 Svenja Schwartz (Freiburg)
Unconscious Negligence from the Perspective of Functionalism
18:00 – dinner (speakers only) –

 

Saturday, 31 August 2024  
09:30–10:30 Malcolm Thorburn (Toronto)
Against the Criminalization of Inadvertent Negligence – a State-Centric Account
10:30–11:00 – coffee break –
11:00–12:00 Morten Boe (Freiburg)
Criminal Negligence and the Constitution – A Canadian-German Perspective
12:00–13:00 Georgia Stefanopoulu (Hannover & Leipzig)
Should We be Less Careless with Carelessness?
13:00 Closing Remarks
13:15 – restaurant (speakers only) –

 

Sunday, 1 September 2024  
– Departure –

Venue and Accommodation

 

The Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security and Law (MPI-CSL) is located in Freiburg in the suburb of “Wiehre” and can be reached from the main train station/city center by tram line 2 (stop “Holbeinstraße”), by taxi as well as on foot (around 20 minutes). The workshop will take place in an annex building of the MPI at Fürstenbergstraße 19. It is a new building with barrier-free access.





Address
Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security and Law
Günterstalstraße 73
79100 Freiburg
Germany

Directions can be found on Google Maps.

We have reserved a contingent of rooms at the Premier Inn Freiburg City Süd for all interested attendees of the workshop. If you would like to book a room, please contact the hotel by July 6, 2024 and mention the booking code "Criminalising Carelessness". Additionally, there are numerous accommodation options available in Freiburg. For more information, please refer to the local tourist information pages.

About us

 

The workshop is organized by Dr. Dr. Philipp-Alexander Hirsch and Johannes Stefan Weigel.

Johannes Stefan Weigel is a PhD student at the Chair of Prof. Dr. Uwe Murmann at the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen and a member of the Independent Research Group “Criminal Law Theory”. His dissertation deals with the topic of Criminalization of Inadvertent Negligence which inspired this workshop.

Philipp-Alexander Hirsch is Leader of the Independent Research Group “Criminal Law Theory” at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security and Law in Freiburg. His research focuses on criminal law and criminal procedure, legal philosophy and legal theory, and the history and philosophy of criminal law in the Age of Enlightenment.

The Max Planck Research Group “Criminal Law Theory” focuses on the analysis of substantive criminal law and criminal procedure and the doctrine in these areas; the analysis centers on the underlying normative structures and principles in order to assess their coherence, justifiability, and persuasiveness. The aim is to draw on the fruits of this analysis to engage in normative theory-building that proposes solutions to problems in criminal law that go beyond interpreting the positive law.

Registration

 

Anyone who is interested is welcome to attend the workshop. We especially encourage students and early-career researchers to register for the workshop. Attendance is free of charge. However, the number of participants is limited. To register, please fill out the following registration form. The deadline for registration is August 9, 2024.

Go to Editor View

Criminalising Carelessness? – Comparative and Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Criminal Liability for Inadvertent Negligence

Criminalising Carelessness? – Ver­glei­chende und interdisziplinäre Per­spek­ti­ven auf die straf­recht­li­che Haftung für unbewusste Fahrlässigkeit

Workshop von 29.–31. August 2024 in Freiburg i. Br.

Max-Planck-Institut zur Erforschung von Kriminalität, Sicherheit und Recht


Können wir Menschen für Verbrechen bestrafen, von denen sie nicht einmal wussten, dass sie sie begangen haben? Letztlich betrifft die Antwort auf diese Frage den Kern der Strafbarkeit unbewusster Fahrlässigkeit. Aber Rechtskreise reagieren darauf sehr unterschiedlich. Während die meisten Rechtsordnungen des civil law kein Problem mit der Be­stra­fung unbewusster Fahrlässigkeit zu haben scheinen, ist ihre Kriminalisierung in den Rechtsordnungen des common law umstritten. Und obwohl die meisten anglo-amerikanischen Strafrechtstheoretiker an dem Grundsatz actus non facit reum, nisi mens sit rea festhalten, verbreitet sich die Bestrafung von unbewusster Fahrlässigkeit (negligence) und sogar die verschuldensunabhängige Haftung der strict liability in der Rechtspraxis immer mehr. Obwohl das Thema in der anglo-amerikanischen und der deutschen Strafrechtswissenschaft seit langem diskutiert wird, hat es erstaunlicherweise kaum einen Austausch zwischen den Rechtskreisen gegeben, und beide konnten zu wenig von den Erkenntnissen des jeweils anderen profitieren.
Vom 29. bis zum 31. August 2024 wird das Max-Planck-Institut zur Erforschung von Kriminalität Sicherheit und Recht einen Workshop ausrichten, der sich mit den theoretischen, doktrinären und praktischen Fragen der unbewussten Fahrlässigkeit befasst. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt wird darauf gelegt werden, was wir dem Täter genau vorwerfen: Was ist strafrechtlich falsch daran, unachtsam zu sein, und ist dieser strafrechtliche Vorwurf aus juristischer und sogar aus philosophischer und psychologischer Sicht haltbar? Durch die Zusammenführung von Wissenschaftlern aus verschiedenen Rechtsordnungen und Disziplinen, wie  der Philosophie, Psychologie und Strafrechtstheorie, bietet der Workshop eine Plattform für eine lebhafte internationale und interdisziplinäre Debatte und versucht, neue Antworten auf ein altes Problem zu geben.

Programm
 


– provisional program –
 

Wednesday, 28 August 2024  
– Arrival –

 

Thursday, 29 August 2024  
09:15–10:00 Registration
10:00–10:15 Philipp-Alexander Hirsch (Freiburg)
Welcome and Introduction
10:15–11:15 Gunnar Duttge (Göttingen)
Fundamental Questions on Inadvertent Negligence from the Perspective of
German Criminal Law
11:15–12:15 Mark Dsouza (London)
Chosen Negligence
12:15–13:45 – lunch break –
13:45–14:45 Veronica Rodriguez-Blanco (Surrey)
Settling the Terms for Understanding Negligent actions: Two Models of
Deliberation
14:45–15:45 Boris Burghardt (Marburg)
Inadvertent Negligence and Moral Luck
15:45–16:15 – coffee break –
16:15–17:45 Manuel Cordes  (Freiburg)
The Semantics of Avoidability

Alexander Greenberg (Southampton)
Could Have Known Better
18:30 – dinner (speakers only) –

 

Friday, 30 August 2024  
09:30–11:00 Jan Rummel (Heidelberg)
Remembering Intentions: A Special Cognitive Challenge

Johannes Stefan Weigel (Göttingen & Freiburg)
The (Un)Avoidability of Negligence
11:00–11:30 – coffee break –
11:30–12:30 Heidi Hurd (Illinois) & Michael Moore (Illinois)
The Non-Punishability of Negligence
12:30–14:00 – lunch –
14:00–15:00 Jan C. Schuhr (Heidelberg)
Two Models of Carelessness: Extraordinary Imputation vs. Breach of Duty
15:00–16:00 Findlay Stark (Cambridge)
Constrained Negligence
16:00–16:30 – coffee break –
16:30–17:30 Svenja Schwartz (Freiburg)
Unconscious Negligence from the Perspective of Functionalism
18:00 – dinner (speakers only) –

 

Saturday, 31 August 2024  
09:30–10:30 Malcolm Thorburn (Toronto)
Against the Criminalization of Inadvertent Negligence – a State-Centric Account
10:30–11:00 – coffee break –
11:00–12:00 Morten Boe (Freiburg)
Criminal Negligence and the Constitution – A Canadian-German Perspective
12:00–13:00 Georgia Stefanopoulu (Hannover & Leipzig)
Should We be Less Careless with Carelessness?
13:00 Closing Remarks
13:15 – restaurant (speakers only) –

 

Sunday, 1 September 2024  
– Departure –

Tagungsort und Unterkunft

 

Das Max-Planck-Institut zur Erforschung von Kriminalität, Sicherheit und Recht (MPI-CSL) befindet sich in Freiburg im Ortsteil „Wiehre“ und ist vom Hauptbahnhof/der Innenstadt mit der Straßenbahnlinie 2 (Haltestelle „Holbeinstraße“), mit dem Taxi sowie fußläufig (20 Min.) erreichbar. Der Workshop wird in einem Nebengebäude des MPI in der Fürstenbergstraße 19 stattfinden. Es handelt sich um einen Neubau, der über einen barrierefreien Zugang verfügt.

 


Adresse
Max-Planck-Institut zur Erforschung von Kriminalität, Sicherheit und Recht
Günterstalstraße 73
79100 Freiburg

Eine Wegbeschreibung kann unter Google Maps gefunden werden.

Für alle interessierten Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Workshops haben wir ein Abrufkontingent im Hotel Premier Inn Freiburg City Süd reserviert. Wenn Sie dort ein Zimmer buchen möchten, melden Sie sich bitte bis zum 06.07.2024 unter dem Stichwort "Criminalising Carelessness". In Freiburg stehen darüber hinaus zahlreiche weitere Unterkünfte zur Verfügung. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf den Seiten der Touristeninformation.

Über uns

 

Der Workshop wird von Johannes Stefan Weigel und Dr. Dr. Philipp-Alexander Hirsch organisiert.

Johannes Stefan Weigel ist Doktorand am Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr. Uwe Mur­mann an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen und Mitglied der Unabhängigen Forschungsgruppe „Straf­rechts­theorie“. In seiner Dissertation widmet er sich dem Problem der Strafbarkeit der unbewussten Fahrlässigkeit und hat damit den Anstoß für diesen Workshop gegeben.

Philipp-Alexander Hirsch ist Leiter der unabhängigen For­schungs­grup­pe „Strafrechtstheorie“ am Max-Planck-Institut zur Erforschung von Kriminalität, Sicherheit und Recht in Freiburg. Seine For­schungs­schwer­punk­te liegen im Strafrecht und Strafverfahrensrecht, in der Rechtsphilosophie und Rechtstheorie sowie in der Strafrechtsgeschichte und -philosophie der Aufklärung.

Die Forschungsgruppe „Strafrechtstheorie“ widmet sich der Analyse des Straf- und Strafprozessrechts und seiner Dogmatik mit Blick auf die zugrundeliegenden normativen Strukturen und Prinzipien, um diese auf ihre Kohärenz, Begründbarkeit und Überzeugungskraft hin zu überprüfen. Ziel ist es, hierauf aufbauend normative Theoriebildung zu betreiben, die Lösungsvorschläge für strafrechtliche Probleme auch jenseits positivrechtlicher Vorgaben unterbreitet.

Anmeldung


Alle Interessierten sind herzlich eingeladen, am Workshop teilzunehmen. Wir ermutigen insbesondere Studierende und Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler, sich für den Workshop anzumelden. Die Teilnahme am Work­shop ist kostenlos; die Teilnehmerzahl ist jedoch begrenzt. Zur Anmeldung füllen Sie bitte folgendes Anmel­de­formu­lar aus. Die Frist für die Anmeldung endet am 9. August 2024.

Zur Redakteursansicht